Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • Article Image Alt Text

Blaine County Candidate Filings for April 2 Elections


Candidate filing for Blaine County offices went down to the wire in several cases and very crowded in others.

Filing for the City of Watonga and several other seats closed at 5 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 6. Seats in Watonga include Julie Almaguer, for Ward 1, for a four-year-term running unopposed. Lindsey Doyel, Kim Kidd and Adam Tock filed for Ward 2, while Ryan Bruner is unopposed for one Ward 3 seat. Allen Cowan, who stepped in to fill the unexpired term of Matt Giles in Ward 3, is seeking election to that seat for the remainder of the term. Former Watonga School Superintendent Bill Seitter is challenging incumbent Gary Flynn for a seat in Ward 4. There is a contest for city clerk as well, with current deputy clerk Amanda Black facing challenger Kristi Campos and retiring fire chief Verlen Bills. There is a race for the mayor’s gavel as well, with school board member Dwight McGee challenging sitting mayor Gary Olsen.

Down the road at Geary, Tabbitha Keiner and John Burns are unopposed for the seats they currently hold on city council, while Bobby Allen, the sitting mayor, is being challenged by Robert Leo Haley. No one filed for the city clerk/treasurer position at Geary. There are two candidates for a school board seat. Challenger Mark Coppage will face incumbent board member Jason Bernhardt.

In Okeene, Mary Dugan, Staci Howe and Nathan Meier filed for seats on the board of trustees. There are only three seats up for grabs so each will be seated.

In Canton, there was only one name in the hat for town clerk, Jodi Nelson Vowell. There is a race for the school board seat open between Mark Cox and James Schoonmaker. Over on the board of trustees, there are four candidates for three seats. Filing were Debbie Robinson, Wanda Baker, Carol Baird and Justin Schaumberg.

In Greenfield, there is one candidate, Sharon Wickware, for two seats available. There is also a single candidate for town clerk, Heather Gillean.

Hitchcock has two candidates, Rick Edsall and Patsy Meier, for three seats on the board of trustees, but there is a candidate for the clerk’s position, Tammie Wray.

Hydro has three candidates for three seats on its board of trustees, Blake Bogdan, Benjamin Sanders and Becca Sullivan. Winston Barnett is seeking to fill the remainder of a twoyear unexpired term on the board.

And in the small town of Longdale, there are a whopping eight candidates for three seats on the board of trustees. Carolyn Kerley, James McGuire, Terry Gene Lindsay, Sarah Pembrook, Lois McGuire, Nina Sullivan, Julia Lindsay, and Brooklyn Colvard all filed for the available seats, while two candidates, Pamela Sullivan and Sandra Martin, filed for the town clerk’s position.

The election will be held April 2. Check with the Blaine County Election Board for information on voting registrations and precincts.

Connie Burcham can be reached at

The Geary Star

P.O. Box 176
116 S. Broadway
Geary, OK 73040
PH: (580) 623-4922
FAX: (580) 623-4925