Mary Fallin Requests Major Disaster Declaration Funding for Six Oklahoma Counties

By Connie Burcham

Gov. Mary Fallin announced May 26 that the state has requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government for six counties impacted by wildfires and severe weather that occurred April 11-20.

If approved, the designation would deliver federal funding to assist municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs, debris removal, and other eligible costs.

The counties in the request are: Custer, Dewey, Harmon, Pushmataha, Roger Mills and Woodward.

Two deaths and multiple injuries were attributed to numerous wildfires that burned more than 350,000 acres statewide in April. Eastern Oklahoma also experienced severe weather on April 13, including damaging winds and large hail.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet